top of page

Unit 6: Fate

Big Ideas:

- Fate

- Love

- Sacrifice

- Identity

- Family

- Violence

- The Individual Versus Society

Essential Questions:

- What are the components of tragedy and how are they used in "Romeo and Juliet"?

- How does age shape our perspective of love?

- In what ways do our decisions affect our lives long-term?

- How do relationships shape values, actions, and lives?

- How do the responsibilities and actions demanded by social institutions conflict with those demanded by the private desires of the individual?

- Does fate control people's lives?

Skills:

CCSS Reading Literature Standards

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.9-10.7

  • I can analyze the representation of a subject or a key scene in two different artistic mediums.

  • I can identify what is emphasized or absent in each treatment of a subject or key scene.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.9-10.9

  • I can analyze how an author draws on source material in a specific work.

  • I can analyze how an author transforms source material in a specific work.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.9-10.10

  • I can read and comprehend literature, including stories, dramas, and poems, in the grades 9-10 text complexity band proficiently, and with scaffolding as needed at the higher end range.

CCSS Writing Standards

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.9-10.9

  • I can draw evidence from literary informational text to support analysis, reflection, and research.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.9-10.9A – Apply grades 9-10 Reading Standards to literature.

CCSS Speaking and Listening Standards

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.9-10.1

  • I can come to discussions prepared, having read and researched material under study.

  • I can explicitly draw on my preparation by referring to evidence from texts and other research on the topic or issue.

  • I can contribute to a thoughtful, well-reasoned exchange of ideas.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.9-10.1A

  • I can be prepared for discussion, having read and researched material under study.

  • I can draw on my preparation by referring to evidence from texts and other research on the topic or issue to stimulate a thoughtful, well-reasoned exchange of ideas.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.9-10.1B

  • I can work with peers to set rules for collegial discussions and decision-making, clear goals and deadlines, and individual roles as needed.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.9-10.6

  • I can adapt speech to a variety of contexts and tasks.

  • I can demonstrate command of formal English when indicated or appropriate.

CCSS Language Standards

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.L.9-10.1A

  • I can use parallel structure.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.L.9-10.2A

  • I can use a semicolon to link two or more closely related independent clauses.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.L.9-10.2B

I can use a colon to introduce a list or quotation.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page